?

Testimonials

Write your own testimonial here!

By Hector P. on Apr 27, 2016

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I cannot say enough good about Dr. Poelstra and his staff. Right after the surgery I could tell it was successful. My wounds are still healing, as it has been only about 3 weeks, but I am so much better. I look forward to doing all the things I have not been able to do in years. Thank you so much, Doctor! God bless you!

By Casey M. on Apr 14, 2016

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Dr. Kornelis Poelstra is a miracle worker and performs great medical works! Dr. Poelstra is very personable and compassionate with his patient's, and provides the best medical care available!

By Lauren W. on Sept 12, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

The staff at the Spine Institute is amazing. I feel so great after my surgery. Thank you Dr. Poelstra!!!!

By Michael W. on Aug 29, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I experienced an incredible time with Dr. Poelstra and his staff. I give huge respect to Mr. Jonathan Needler, whom helped me with one of the most positive and reassuring perspectives that I've seen, through this process of fixing my back. My injury was worker's comp related, and this staff was the first to identify my need, what needed to be done, and guide me with such care through the process. This is one serious spinal team that leaves nothing to chance. I give another huge amount of respect to Ms. Lara Cooper at Sacred Heart Hospital in Destin. Lara is dedicated to your cause, and tireless. She is who you want on your team when your nursing team is stumped with something or other and you're in pain - trust me. Please do yourself a favor and go to their Spine Camp - you won't regret it! Dr. Poelstra, I sincerely hope I never need this again; but I will be making 1 referral very soon, and I expect very many others over the coming years. Thanks so much to you, your team, and all other wonderful individuals involved. Bless you, sir.

By Gail G. on July 24, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 3 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I have been seeing dr. Patel recently and at the institute over a year. Every staff member has been wonderful. I have serious back and hip problems both require surgery. When I see dr Patel I have found him helpful with all ailments he listens and I feel compassion for my pain and other ailments related to my ailments. I feel he only wants the best for me and I trust the quality of care he gives me. He truly cares. Thank you Dr Patel .

By Jack B. on July 8, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Thank you! What you have been able to accomplish with my back is colossal to me. At first I was of the view that you had two attributes that made you a great surgeon; smart and great hands. Now I realize your creative intellect brings a large additional dimension into the mix. Elusive to the eye, but then so clearly evident in your work is the creative problem solving you brought to my complex surgeries. The ability to stand up straight, hold my head up and look people in the eye is not something I expected to have in my life again, and oh so sweet! I’m so thankful that I ended up on your ‘watch’. I don’t believe that I could have received this surgery anywhere else in the world.

By Marscha C. on Jun 15, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

In the span of eighteen months, Dr. Poelstra performed a total of eight surgeries between me and four of my family members! In 2009, at the age of 59, I consulted a well-known neurosurgeon in this area. He told me that my cervical and lumbar spine problems were too complex and my age too great. Feeling older than when I walked in the door, I walked out, and a year later I was still in pain. After a family recommendation, I had surgery on my lower back by a neurosurgeon in Auburn, AL. It was a disaster qualifying me for SS Disability. In physical therapy and elsewhere I heard three suggestions to consult with Dr. Poelstra. I was immediately impressed with his joyful positivity and detailed explanations of the two surgeries he could perform that would completely change my life. Terrified but hopeful, he first performed the very complex cervical surgery that fused five vertebrae and gave me back one inch in height. I knew it was a success when I woke in my room, feeling freed from the entrapment of my condition. The family member who recommended me to the surgeon in Auburn, had gone on to have three disastrous lumbar surgeries and in great, crippling pain, came to Dr. Poelstra, he performing the repair surgery to rebuild her grossly damaged vertebrae. Following our lead, her mother came down to Dr. Poelstra where he performed a cervical fusion, and months later a lumbar surgery. Then it was sister's turn to come down for a repair of the lumbar surgery that had also gone wrong in AL. Then their brother needed an emergency lumbar surgery! It was my turn again for surgery. It was very complex, using plates and screws and rods to fuse three of the lowest vertebrae. The next morning, I was able to walk to the door of the hospital room to greet my very pleased surgeon! At six weeks post-op, I was almost pain free. I was also walking half a mile and in the pool for an hour. The good doctor also gave me another one and a half inch in height, bringing me to my former stature. So now I feel young again and so grateful for the skill, the hands, the knowledge and the passion for making lives so much better for so many from my dear Orthopedic Surgeon. That thanks and gratitude is also extended to his office staff Tonya and Lauren, the compassionate nurse, Monica, and for Jonathan Needler, PA, whose bedside manner and detailed knowledge helped keep me positive. This recommendation would not be complete without acknowledging The Spine Team that Dr. Poelstra created at Sacred Heart Hospital. CeCe Noland Dykas, RN, is the Spine Program Navigator, tasked with educating the patient by way of class and reading material before surgery, but is the liaison between the doctor, hospital and patient. A true patient advocate! I have never seen a more professional and compassionate hospital team; each member of the surgery performance came out and explained their role before they wheeled me into surgery. Sacred Heart has been amazing through all eight of the surgeries in our family. How fortunate are we?

By Judith C. on Jun 7, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Cervical pain and occipital neuralgia--abnormal MRI

By Shannon E. on May 5, 2015

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I have had several office visits and a back surgery with Dr. Poelstra and Staff. All of the staff is very kind and knowledgeable and appointments are prompt and only take seconds to set-up. The office runs very smoothlly and I have never had any problems with insurance or getting in quickly. Words can not express my gratitude for Dr. Poelstra and his staff. Prior to my back surgery, I was in an extreme amount of pain for several months, to the point of barely being able to dress myself or drive. After surgery I could tell immediate, drastic improvements. Since the surgery site has healed, which only took a short time, I have been essentially pain free. I no longer need any pain medication and hiked over five miles today. I can not imagine having to face the pain I was in before and will be eternally grateful for this wonderful gift of having quality of life once again.

By John S. on Mar 2, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I was referred to the Spine Institute after a bad motor vehicle accident. The thought of someone working on my spine was never a consideration no matter what--or so I said. After trying all alternatives, I finally gave into having back surgery. Here it is six-months later and I'm back to as good as if not better shape as I was before the spinal fusion. I run and work-out as if I were never in an accident. Thank-you Dr. Poelstra and the crew at the Spine Institute--you gave me my life back.

By Ronald L. on Sept 23, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I was referred to see Dr. Poelstra after an MRI showed I had severe spinal stenosis most significicantly on vertebrae L-4 and L-5. My wife and I were very concerned and worried until we went to Dr. Poelstra's office. He was so easy to talk to and explained in terms, we could understand, the results of the MRI. He told us the decision to have surgery is not based on imaging test results alone. Surgery also depends on the severity of systems and your ability to do norman daily activities. He told me I would know myself when back surgery would be the best option. After trying physical therapy and three back injections, my lower back pain and numbness in my legs continued to get worst. I decided to schedule back surgery with Dr. Poelstra and had the open back surgery on the 4th of August 2014. What a great decision and more important what a great doctor. My surgery, with fusion, was very successful and 6 weeks later I have no lower back pain and can walk without any numbness in my legs. I was off all pain medication 5 days after the surgery. I would highly recommend that anyone with old or new back problems contact Dr. Poelstras office and get expert help.

   

By Richelle H. on Jun 1, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

My Surgery was a big one. I was scared to death. Dr. Polestra and Jon Got me through all of my fears. I love them both. They are the best! They got me through this big surgery, which I did have second thoughts about, but finally had me convinced that they could fix me. I could barely walk when I first went in the office. The good news is I had my surgery and my back is much better. Kudos to the office staff as well. They are all wonderful. CeCe and the surgical team were all great and my experiance has been a wonderful journey. Thank you all!!!!!!

   

By Topher H. on Apr 29, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Both Lori and Kornelis work on my back and every time I went in for a procedure, I had no worries at all. Both of them are very confident and comforting. I would recommend them to anyone who has any issue with their spine, this place is wonderful!!

   

By Rachel M. on Mar 11th, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Post operative visit - Dr. Poelstra, PA John, and the rest of the staff are without question, the finest medical group I have ever encountered. I strongly recommend Dr. Poelstra for any spinal problems one may have.

   

By Amber R. on Mar 6th, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Dr.Poelstra was amazing, he took the time to explain everything to me and answer every question that I had. He makes you feel as though you are his only patient, his care & concern for your well being is something that you don't see often. I also seen Chrissy who is also outstanding, she makes you very comfortable and had an answer for all of my questions. I left knowing 100% that I would be choosing them for my surgery and I had no doubts or concerns if I would be getting the best care because I was certain that no others could compare.

   

By Mary H. on Feb 4th, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Getting through nursing school is tough, and when you add a rupture to the mix, it is nearly impossible. After seeing other surgeons, I though it was nearly impossible to ever feel "normal" again. Dr. Poelstra and Jon Needler gave me my life back! They listened to my concerns and pledged to get me back on my feet. Because of these two, I just graduated nursing school with no pain! Thank you so much for everything! You truly are the best!

   

By Maria A. on Jan 20th, 2014

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I was seen by Chrissy Billones. I can't begin to say what a wonderful young lady she is. When I sat with her and she explained by problem, she made me feel like there was no one as important to her as I was. She went into detail regarding my back/neck problem and what procedure is recommended in my case. I could not want a better place than the Spine Institute on the Emerald Coast.

   

By Johnny A. on Sep 19th, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Dr Poestra, Jon and staff have gone beyond the call of taking care of their patients. The true care and passion from the entire team is admirable. From the time I walked in for the first time to the recovery of surgery, I was treated beyond expectation every time. The entire team clearly understands the vision of the Spine Institute and take patient care and satisfaction to a level above others. The entire team is unequivocally deserving of the highest awards possible in the medical field. As an active duty Marine, they took my concerns into thought and brought me to a level beyond expected. I have and will continue to recommend the entire team for future patients. Thank you for giving me my life back!

   

By Natasha B. on Aug 29th, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Just wanted to stop by 8 days post- op to say that I am honored to have had Dr. Polestra, Lori, John and the entire staff at The Spine Institute on the Emerald Coast be a part of my Spinal Decompression Fusion Surgery. Thank you for your skill and kindness before, during and following my surgery. Although I am just 8 days out my result has already exceeded my expectations, and I take great comfort in knowing that my continued care will be in Dr Polestra's skillful and talented hands. You are a credit to the medical profession, and I thank you all again.

   

By Maureen C. on Aug 2nd, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Broke my back after fall down a flight of stairs; while in another state. Dr. Polestra was amazing. Reassuring,kind. easy to communicate wth and talented surgeon!!

   

By Dave D. on Jul 18th, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 3 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I originally went to see Dr. Poelstra because of contiuious pain radiating from my buttocks down both legs. John Needler, P.A. identified a lower disc problem but also uncovered a problem (Hoffman's Disease) stemming from my neck. Am MRI revealed 3 discs in my neck that were pinching my spinal column. Dr. Poelstra said neck surgery was necessary prior to dealing with the lower back problems due to the severity of impingement on my spinal column. Dr. Poelstra performed my neck fusion surgery on June 28, 2013. The results were realized immediately. Pain that I was experiencing in my shoulders and arms, which I had attributed to arthritis, age and bursitis was gone. My left leg is now pain free and I only experience mild muscle spasms in my right leg. Lower back surgery may still be necessary but time will tell. Dr. Poelstra explained, in detail, what my surgery would entail in terms that any person could understand. He is a very caring and compassionate individual that loves what he does and truly gets satisfaction out of seeing his patients get better. I highly recommend Dr. Poelstra and John Needler, P.A. to anyone that is having spinal issues. They are exceptional.

 

By Orlando T. on Jul 2nd, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

I have had several surgeries on my neck and lower back prior to being seen by Dr. Poelstra. The issues in both my neck and lower back were never successfully resolved. MRI revealed that a prior fusion in my neck was unsuccessful. To address my neck, DR. Poelstra recommended a posterior laminectomy with fusion and instrumentation. What a difference! It's only been 3 months post operation and I feel great. My arms no longer feel heavy and my hands no longer feel clumsy. I can finally lay down at night without being in severe pain and having to constantly readjust my sleeping position. As for the radiculopathy in my legs, Dr. Poelstra recommended neurostimulator which was equally successful. DR. Poelstra has a great bedside manner, he explains everything in great detail and I never feel rushed during office visits. Jonathan Needler, his Physician Assistant, is equally awesome. He is very thorough and really goes out of his way to answer my many questions. Dr. Poelstra and his entire staff are friendly and extreamly professional. Do not hesitate, Dr. Poelstra is the real deal!

 

By Tina B. on Jun 14th, 2013

Ease of Appointment - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Promptness - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Courteous Staff - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Accurate Diagnosis - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Bedside Manner - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Spends Time with Me - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Follows Up After Visit - Currently 4 of 4 stars

Overall Rating - Currently 4 of 4 stars

What a fantastic experience!! The office staff was professional and kind . Dr Poelstra was very thorough and explained the entire procedure to me. I felt like I was truly being cared for and that my body would get healed by this practice. Always positive and friendly I highly recommend The Spine Institute on the Emerald Coast . They really care about their patients!!!